The Eclectic Complexions of Vernacular Dialects

As you may or may not remember, I’m studying a double major in International Relations + Translation and Interpreting, which entails the study of a few languages at least. I thought I’d put that knowledge to use and compile a list of 30 basic phrases and expressions in the five languages I speak or am learning. If you have any questions or comments about these or any other phrases, I’ll do my best to help you out.

Enjoy,

-B

English

Spanish French German Mandarin Chinese

Hello

Hola Salut Hallo 你好

nǐhǎo

How are you?

¿Qué tal estás? Comment ça va? Wie geht es Ihnen?

你好吗?

nǐhǎo ma?

Fine, and you? Bien, ¿y tú? Bien, et toi? Gut, und Ihnen?

我很好,你呢?

wǒ hěnhǎo, nǐ ne?

Thank you

Gracias Merci Danke

谢谢

xièxie

Please

Por favor S‘il vous plaît Bitte

qǐng

You’re welcome

De nada Il n’y a pas de quoi Bitte

不谢

bùxiè

What’s your name?

¿Cómo te llamas? Comment tu t’appelle? Wie heiβen Sie?

你叫什么?

nǐ jiào shénme?

My name is…

Me llamo… Je m’appelle… Ich heiβe…

我叫…

wǒ jiào…

Where are you from?

De dónde eres? D’où venez-vous? Woher kommen sie?

你是哪国人?

nǐ shì nǎ guó rén?

I am from…

Soy de… Je viens de… Ich komme aus…

我是…人

wǒ shì … rén

I am x years old

Tengo x años J’ai x ans Ich bin x Jahre alt

我是…岁

wǒ shì … suì

Goodbye

Adiós Au revoir Auf wiedersehen

再见

zàijiàn

I don’t know

No lo se Je ne sais pas Ich weiβ (noch) nicht

我不知道

wǒ bùzhīdào

I don’t understand

No entiendo Je ne comprends pas Ich verstehe nicht

我听不懂

wǒ tīng bù dǒng

How do you say [word] in [language]?

Cómo se dice [word] en [language]? Comment dit-on [word] en [language]? Was ist [word] auf [language]?

[word][language]    怎么说?

[word][language] zěnme shuō?

Do you speak…? (a language)

Hablas…? Parlez-vous…? Sprechen Sie…?

你会说…吗?

nǐ huì shuō … ma?

Excuse me (to ask a question)

Perdone Excusez-moi Entschuldigung

请问

qǐngwén

Sorry Perdón/Lo siento Pardon ‘tschuldigung/sorry

对不起

duìbùqǐ

How much is this?

Cuánto cuesta esto? Ça coûte combien? Wie viel kostet das? 这个多少钱?

Zhège duōshǎo qián?

Help!

¡Ayuda! Au secours! Hilfe! 救命啊!

jìumìng ā!

Where is the bathroom? Dónde está el baño? Où sont les toilettes? Wo ist die Toilette?

洗手间在哪里? xǐshǒujiān zài nǎli?

I’m hungry Tengo hambre J’ai faim Ich habe Hunger

我饿了

Wǒ è le

I’m thirsty

Tengo sed J’ai soif Ich habe Durst 我渴了

Wǒ kě le

Yes Si Oui Ja

是的

Shì de

No

No Non Nein

What’s your job? En qué trabajas? Que faites-vous comme travail? Was ist ihr beruf?

你做什么工作?

nǐ zuò Shénme gōngzuò?

I am a… (for jobs)

Yo soy… Je suis… Ich arbeite als… 我是…

wǒ shì

Merry Christmas Feliz Navidad Joyeaux Natal Frohe Weinachten

圣诞快乐!

Shèngdàn kuàilè

Happy birthday

Feliz Cumpleaños Joyeaux Anniversaire Alles Gute (zum Geburtstag) 祝你生日快乐!

Zhùnǐ shēngrì kuàilè!

I love you Te quiero Je t’aime Ich liebe dich

我爱你

Wǒ ài nǐ

6 thoughts on “The Eclectic Complexions of Vernacular Dialects

  1. That’s an impressive selection of languages you’ve got! I’m a boring native English speaker, so the only language I can speak fluently is English :p Although I’m teaching myself Latin and Mandarin Chinese at the moment. It’s cool to see the similarities between those Spanish and French phrases and the Latin I know, e.g. French “Je t’aime” is like Latin “Te amo” 😁

    Liked by 1 person

  2. 5 languages (that are so different) are impressive!! I only speak English, Mandarin Chinese (I’m Singaporean Chinese), Spanish and a very small amount of Thai and Japanese (enough to take cabs, order food etc.). One small point: 我不这道 (I don’t know) should actually be 我不知道

    Liked by 1 person

      1. It’s very international (the largest ethnic group is Chinese but we have a significant number of Malays and Indians too as well as a lot of expats), clean, organised, safe.. It’s super easy to get around 🙂 It’s very modern but there are still a few interesting traditional enclaves like Chinatown, Arab Street and Little India. You should definitely visit someday 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

