An English Cup of Coffee

Hey everyone!

I think it’s safe to say that after a month here I’ve finally settled in.

I’ve done all the paperwork I needed to do for now, I’ve more or less memorized my class schedule (in the picture below for those interested) and I’ve managed to socialize a bit.

img_20161012_230504

I’ve gone through everything in my A Geek’s Guide to London post, except for The Who Shop, which will be quickly righted. done some touristy stuff as well, like gone to the British and the Natural History museums, walked from Waterloo to Westminster and along theΒ river to Big Ben and the London Eye, visited Harrod’s, taken pictures at 221B Baker Street, sat down on the bench in Bubba Gump and only this last weekend, I went to Madame Tussaud’s and took selfies with everyone from Churchill to Benedict Cumberbatch.

But don’t think that I’ve spent the whole month just waltzing around, spending pounds like crazy. I’ve also been cooking, buying all I needed for my dorm room, and doing readings for all my classes, mostly at the huge SOAS library:

img_20161004_115741

I believe I told you I signed up for postcrossing, thanks to Emma’s Snail Mail and Pen pal ‘where to start’ post @Β Puddle Side Musings. Postcrossing is a website that allows you to exchange postcards with people all around the world. I’ve sent out 14 postcards as of today, and just yesterday gotten my first three, from Ohio, Germany and Malaysia:

And that pumpkin-filled postcard from Ohio got me in a Halloweeny mood, so I created this masterpiece:

img_20161023_232621

Okay, so now that you’re all updated on my life, I want to tell you guys about a new hobby of mine. You know these signs that’ll usually be stood on the street outside coffee shops and stores? The ones like double-sided blackboards with chalk drawings and messages to get you to come inside? Well, I’ve started a collection of pictures of those. Here are pictures of what I’ve got so far, but any you guys can supply will be appreciated:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

And that’s about it so far! I’ll almost certainly be visiting the aquarium at some point during November, so look forward to that, as well as to anything else I can think of. Feel free to suggest anything you think might be cool to do in London below in the comments.

Also, thank you guys sososo much for 400 followers! I can’t think of a better way to start off the semester.

Be back soon,

-B

54 thoughts on “An English Cup of Coffee

Leave a Reply

